Foods with Gluten – What Are They


Foods with gluten are generally foods that contain these grains. In order to know which foods contain gluten, you should read the labels carefully. You will find that grains, and in particular wheat, are found in almost all processed foods, as well as many deli meats. It is important for individuals with celiac disease who need to follow a gluten-free diet to be able to identify foods with gluten. Read on to find out more about the foods that contain gluten.

 

 

 

Photo by rofi

 

Breads & Cereals

Cereals and breads are some of the most common foods with gluten. Foods made using wheat, rye, barley or white flour are packed with gluten. These include:

  • Breakfast bars
  • Doughnuts
  • Muffins
  • Pizza crust
  • Cakes

When you read a label and find that it refers to wheat flour or enriched wheat flour, then the food item is not gluten-free. Common gluten free foods include corn flour, rice flour and potato flour.

Pasta

While pasta is a popular dish with many people, it is not easy to find gluten-free pasta. In fact, any pasta made using durum flour or semolina contains gluten. Specialty pastas such as tomato, spinach and carrot are mixed with wheat flour and therefore also contain gluten. The good news however is that there are some gluten-free pastas which are made out of rice or corn flours available.

Gravies, Soups & Sauces

Many people wouldn’t think that a can of tomato soup would contain gluten but upon inspection of the label, you will find that whole-wheat flour is listed as an ingredient. Gravies and soups often contain thickeners that are made out of flours. Brown rice syrup and many sauces including sauce bases, soup bases and soy sauce also contain gluten.

Meats

If your meat has been processed in any way, chances are that it contains gluten. For instance, you will find that most prepared sausages, frozen meatballs, imitation seafood and certain bacons are injected or filled with wheat. Turkey from turkey farms, chicken and chicken breasts that have been pre-frozen individually are often injected with a preserving solution containing wheat. Many deli cheeses and meats contain a certain form of wheat. It is therefore wise to inquire from your deli clerk on which food items are gluten-free.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *